pj reviews

Monthly Wrap Up || June 2019

Hello people! It’s only been a month since I posted, no big deal. But before that, let me explain.

As I explained last month, I got 2 jobs now and they’re both time consuming. Because of that same reason I haven’t had much time to read/watch a lot of things and this wrap up will prove it. Other side effects of having 2 jobs include massive back ache and…lack of time to write and read blog posts…

embarrassed in a box GIF

Anyways, let’s get into the post, shall we? 😅

The series 💻

Dynasty season 1

Image result for dynasty
⭐⭐⭐1/2

The life story of the Carrington family, owner of the multibillion dollar energy company, Carrington Atlantic, and one of the wealthiest and most dysfunctional families in Atlanta. The story begins when heiress to the empire, Fallon Carrington returns to Atlanta to find that her brother is back and that her father is marrying a much younger woman with a very complicated past and Fallon isn’t very happy about it, especially when her position as the company’s COO is at risk.

Ok, so if you hadn’t heard of this series before, I just made it sound 500 times more serious than it actually is. I mean, the series IS what I just told you about, but there’s a better word for it. Drama. Drama. DRAMA.

And I LOVE IT! It’s the very cheesy, teenagery kind of drama that you would expect from, well, a teenage series, like, say, Riverdale, but with adults. It’s the kind of series that practically begs you to ask the question “What kind of adult behaves like this?” But oh man, I’m not even mad. I’m loving this series. During such a busy month like June, it’s series like Dynasty that I really crave, you know? Series where I can just turn off my brain to. Right now I’m 4 episodes into the season 2 and I can’t wait already for a season 3!

Dark season 2

Image result for dark season 2 poster
⭐⭐⭐⭐

Unless you haven’t watched season 1 already, a) here’s my review of it, and b) there’s no way I can tell you what season 2 is about. And even if you have seen season 1, then you might want to rewatch it because this next season is going to blow your mind.

As for season 2 of Dark… I’m freakin speechless, mind-blown 🤯 I watched it with a friend and since we both have busy schedules, it took us like 3 weeks to finish the season so I was very confused about the details. And I had to watch a few videos to understand what really happened but I really enjoyed it, more than the first one. I really can’t believe that next season is going to be the last one, especially with all these questions I have and with how the ending only managed to complicate things a lot more!

The movies 🎥

Chasing Happiness

Image result for chasing happiness
⭐⭐⭐⭐

On my previous wrap up, I mentioned that I would be going to the Jonas Brothers concert in Boston in August since one of my friends is a complete sucker for them, and of course, when they announced their documentary, she practically created an Amazon Prime account for me to watch the thing with her (ok no, but she did tell me to take advantage of the free month).

So yeah, the documentary tells the story of how the brothers got into music, their beginnings as a band, their ups and downs and what lead to their separation 6 years ago and how they’re, gladly, in a better place now and happy to have gotten all of their resentment towards each other out of their system and creating music together again.

What more can I say? I really enjoyed the documentary. I wasn’t a massive fan of theirs growing up (like my friend was) but I liked their music and of course, I had my Jonas crush *cough* Joe *cough* and I’m excited to see them next month!

Raise Your Voice

Image result for raise your voice movie
⭐⭐⭐⭐

So, Raise Your Voice follows the story of Terry Fletcher, a girl who loves singing and whose dream is to enter this very prestigious academy in California, but when her brother passes away in an accident, Terry simply doesn’t want to sing anymore.

I used to love this movie back in the day, just like I love Hillary Duff, and I watched it all the time, and one day me and my friend simply decided to rewatch it. This movie is, to me, a very good example of a story told right, you know? It is very simple, with a simply plot, perhaps a little predictable at times, but with very realistic, down-to-earth and very likable characters.

Charlie St. Cloud

Image result for charlie st cloud
⭐⭐1/2

Charlie St. Cloud is a boy who lives in some…small town where nothing happens and who has a bright future in Stanford with a sailing scholarship, but one day his little brother Sam dies in a car accident, yet Charlie is still able to interact with him and not wanting to leave his little brother alone, he gives up his dreams and stays in town.

My friend made me watch this movie on my birthday 😂 and this is actually the movie that made me want to watch Raise Your Voice since both main characters lose their brothers and give up their dreams. Except I liked Raise Your Voice more. I mean, I liked this one too but… it has a romantic subplot and it’s kinda (very) cheesy and out of nowhere and takes over the movie, so… yeah.

Toy Story 4

Image result for toy story 4
⭐⭐⭐⭐

Oh boy, as usual, I loved EVERYTHING about this movie. One of my favorite parts about the Toy Story movies is how inspiring they can be. I don’t know, for some reason, they just make me want to write my own story in that exact moment. Before watching the movie I’d thought that the appearance of Bo Beep was really forced just to get another movie out with a character that we knew that had a connection with Woody, but I actually liked her in the movie.

I mean, I’ll admit that this movie wasn’t necessary and the ending killed me, and, no I didn’t cry, I held my tears like a man, I thought it was sad AF, however… I can’t agree with it. That ending came completely out of nowhere and it doesn’t go with the character of Woody at all 😕 If they do release a fifth or a sixth Toy Story movie (which, honestly, at this point it really wouldn’t make any sense, but… that’s what we thought after the third one) it feels as if all the toys are going to follow Woody’s path and I just can’t agree with that…

The books 📚

Well. Book. Singular.

1Q84, by Haruki Murakami

⭐⭐⭐⭐1/2

In 1Q84, we have two stories. On one side we have Aomame who is physical trainer/assassin who believes she has entered a world parallel to her own with just a few differences and names is 1Q84 because of the year they’re in, 1984. On the other side we have Tengo, an aspiring writer who takes on the task of rewriting and giving shape to a novel written by a 17-year-old in order to win a contest. Tengo and Aomame seem to have nothing in common but as they live their daily lives we discover how their own actions and the actions of other characters in between, their respective storylines start to intertwine.

1Q84 is a pretty long book, ok? 928 pages divided in 3 books. I started it in the last week of May, it’s accompanied me throughout all of June and as of today I’m on chapter 12 of book 3, 78% into the book. However, I can tell you right now that I’m absolutely loving this book! If you’ve read this book or know a little bit more of what it is about, you’ll notice that it’s kinda weird. And it’s true, it is weird, and because of this it falls into the “not for everyone” category, but it also happened to be my kind of book. When I finish it, I really want to write a proper review, so stay tuned for that!

The extras

I saw an episode of Black Mirror season 5, the one with Miley Cyrus in it, and I really loved it! 5 out of 5 stars! I have yet to watch the other episodes in season 5… and finish season 4.

And… that’s it for June. I also watched like half of that Good Omens series, but I’m leaving my opinion for the July Wrap Up. Out of the things I watched/read this month, my favorites are definitely 1Q84 and Dark. How about you? What were your favorites of June? Did you watch/read any of the things mentioned here? Let me know, ok?

pj out!

Standard

One thought on “Monthly Wrap Up || June 2019

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up || July & August 2019 | reviewerpj

Leave a comment